https://www.theeagle.com/news/a m/texas-a-m-professor-named-to-state-advisory-committee/article bf135544c5ac-11e8-bc79-57dc70253ae4.html

Texas A&M professor named to state advisory committee

Eagle Staff Report Oct 2, 2018



Texas A&M Department of Petroleum Engineering's Dan Hill fields questions about the depth of the Eagle Ford **Buy Now** Shale and others in the area Aug. 20, 2014, during an economic outlook briefing luncheon. The event was sponsored by the Bryan-College Station Chamber of Commerce and Caldwell Companies and had panelists from Texas A&M and representatives from the oil and gas industry.

Sam Craft/The Eagle



A Texas A&M professor has been appointed to a technical advisory committee that reports to Gov. Greg Abbott on the effectiveness of a program established to monitor seismic activity.

Dan Hill, a professor and Noble Chair of the Harold Vance

1 of 3 11/21/2018, 12:36 PM



Dan Hill
Texas A&M University photo



Sound science should be at the core of College Station oil and gas discussions

Department of Petroleum Engineering, was appointed to the TexNet Technical Advisory Committee along with seven other people on Monday.

The committee advises the Bureau of Economic Geology on the use of funding, the TexNet Seismic Monitoring Program and collaborative research relationships with universities in Texas, and on the preparation of a status report to the governor and Legislature.

The TexNet program was established to help locate and determine the origins of earthquakes and help prevent earthquakes caused by human activity from happening in the future.

Hill is a distinguished member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers and a member of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers and the Society of Professional Well Log Analysts. He received a Bachelor of Science from Texas A&M University and a Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy from The University of Texas at Austin.

Other members of the committee appointed Monday are Chris Hillman of Irving, Dana Jurick of Houston, Hal Macartney of Irving, Kris Nygaard of Houston, Brian Stump of McKinney, Robbie Vaughn of Dallas and Aaron Velasco of El Paso.

Scott Tinker, the state geologist, serves as an ex officio member of the panel.

2 of 3 11/21/2018, 12:36 PM



3 of 3